Why is “real” food so expensive? 

It’s very hard for people below the poverty line to eat healthy. Especially here in Canada.


I’ve been pondering on this for a while now, it’s crazy to think it’s unaffordable to purchase the most simple and natural ingredients that there are. How can a factory made, chemically altered product be cheaper than something that grows in the ground! Sure being healthy living below the poverty line is attainable, but it has a cost on their overall quality of life, ironic. A healthy diet should be not only affordable, but cheaper than the rest; in an ideal world of course. I find my self buying daily buying things such as:

  • $2 sparkling water, 
  • $7 apple chips,
  • $9 all natural toothpaste, 

I often stop to think, what would I eat and use if I couldn’t afford these things? I would eat over processed chemically loaded food.

You may find your self asking questions such as: what about; 

Organic vs non organic, 

Processed vs unprocessed,

Expensive vs cheap.


My goal in 2017; is to come up with an affordable, and nutritious meal plans and recipes for both individuals and families. I don’t think there should be a struggle to eat good on a budget, I will be researching the best ways to do so without going through any struggles. 

“…whenever I hear people say clean food is expensive, I tell them it’s actually the cheapest food you can buy. That always gets their attention. Then I explain that with our food all the costs are figured into the price. Society is not bearing the cost of water pollution, of antibiotic resistance, of food-borne illness, of crop subsidies, of subsidized oil and water — of all the hidden costs to the environment and the taxpayer that make cheap food seem cheap. No thinking person will tell you they don’t care about all that. I tell them the choice is simple: You can buy honestly priced food or you can buy irresponsibly priced food.”

Author: Michael Pollan

